? Double Delight for Quinlan’s & Crookstown at Business League Awards!

? Finbarr Buckley

SOUTH COAST SALES CROOKSTOWN UNITED AND QUINLAN’S BAR were the toast of the CBL end-of-season awards presentations held recently at Turner’s Cross, writes Finbarr Buckley.

Debutants Crookstown’s league and cup triumphs were rewarded with the Team of the Year award while Colm Crowley’s impressive form throughout the season made him the popular choice for the inaugural First Division Player of the Year accolade.  Quinlan’s Mooney Cup and O’Driscoll Cup wins were among the highlights of another memorable season with the outstanding Graham Hosford a unanimous selection as the Premier Division player-of-the-year following in the footsteps of the first winner UCC United’s Cathal Doherty and last season’s recipient, Satellite Taxis’ John Harris.

The specially commissioned trophy pieces by Gary McCarthy Trophies and generously sponsored by Tadhg O’Shea of JSK Eco Cleaning Solutions were presented following the league’s AGM.  Among the topics discussed were entry to the Oscar Traynor Trophy competition, player registration on FAI.net and ideas to attract new teams for next season. Peter Harrington stepped down as secretary after a thirty-two year tenure and handed the reins to his assistant Peter Travers who becomes only the third holder to occupy the hot seat after Mr. Harrington and his predecessor Mick Mooney. The meeting concluded with the trophy presentations where PRO Finbarr Buckley welcomed Mr. O’Shea, informing him that the end-of-season awards are an integral part of the league’s calendar while thanking him for his sponsorship over the past eleven years. He concluded by congratulating all the trophy winners during the season and wished all present continued success in the new season.

Planet Cork’s young scoring sensation  Robert Egan  received the golden boot as the First Division’s top scorer, his sixteen goals helping to take his club  into the top half of the table in their first season with his last five goals coming in the last two matches to pip Co. Council’s Jason Crowley by one goal.  Shane Hennessy of Satellite Taxis topped the Premier Division scoring charts with twenty-two goals ahead of Doolan’s Cow’s marksmen and former winner’s James  Cotter and Tony  O’Reilly.

Jim Hennessy was a popular recipient of the Referee of the Year accolade after another impressive season on the league’s panel where he featured in the middle in the Linehan Cup final as well as being an assistant in the, shield, Mooney and O’Driscoll Cup deciders . He will feature again on the panel next season and will once again bring his assured performances to the fore for all present and new clubs to experience.

The introduction of a fair play award for the first time was welcomed by all present with Cork Hospitals the worthy winners have going through the campaign without having a player sent off.

The final award was presented to referee assessor Keith Spoonley in appreciation to his long service to the game following his retirement last year and in particular to the league where he was the resident assessor for over twenty years.