Marlboro Trust

Marlboro Trust

Venue: Mayfield Community School

Team Colours (Shirts, Shorts, Socks): Green, Green, Green


Cup / League Year(s)
Premier Division Winners 2005/06, 2007/08, 2009/10, 2012/13.
Premier Division Runners-up 2000/01, 2002/03, 2008/09, 2010/11, 2014/15.
Mooney Cup Winners 2004/05, 2005/06, 2009/10, 2010/11.
Mooney Cup Runners-up 2006/07,
Shield Winners 2009/10, 2012/13.
Shield Runners-up 2010/11, 2011/12.
Premier Cup Winners 2010/11, 2011/12, 2013/14.
Premier Cup Runners-up 2004/05, 2012/13.
Division One Runners-up 1999/00.
Shandon Cup (Division Three) Winners 1997/98, 1998/99.

2019 marked Marlboro Trusts 30 years playing in the Cork Business League, making them the leagues second-oldest club. Marlboro Trust entered under their original name of McSweeney’s Bacon in 1988 but its association with the then Shipping League stretches back much further. Some of the founder members of the club – Tommy Hull, Seamus Galvin, Tony Byron & Jim Cleary, to name but a few, worked and played football with Lunhams as far back as the 1960s. They were joined by the O’Connor brothers, Cormac, Diarmuid & Declan. Also, Kieran Corkery, who had played with Byrnes, also a long-established clubs in the league. Indeed, it was strange for some mortal enemies in the ‘Bacon Derby’, now playing together!

Marlboro Trust has had a few famous names in their ranks over the years, ranging from the great Paddy Shortt (Limerick and Cork Celtic) to John Clifford of Cork Celtic and former Cork Hibernians, Nottingham Forrest and Republic of Ireland international Miah Dennehy.

Despite many ups and downs, the breakthrough came in 1997/98 under the guidance of Tony Byron and Robert Healy when the first of two successive Shandon Cup victories, over Heitons and ODCM the following year, was achieved on a memorable night at Turner’s Cross. The win over ODCM was followed by promotion to the second division in the same season, 1998/99, and finally promotion to the top tier in 1999/2000 where the club has stayed ever since.

In 2003, the club made the long trip to Antwerp, in Belgium and finished 4th out of 32 teams in a European competition. Then, in 2004, Prague was the destination of a huge victory for the club, when they won the tournament beating French, German and Dutch opposition along the way. These trips are a testament to the friendship and familial ties that the club is recognised for, and to this day is a credit to current manager Aidan Kelleher. One of their most recent achievements was knocking the all-conquering Doolans Cow out of the Mick Mooney Cup at the 2nd Round stage of this seasons competition. The drive is there to succeed still over the years and the CBL brings fond memories to everyone involved with the club over the years.


PlayerClubGoalsYellow Cards
Kevin O’SullivanMarlboro Trust60
Stephen O’ReillyMarlboro Trust20
Daniel Del BlancoMarlboro Trust20
David McCarthyMarlboro Trust10

CBL Shield 2020 – 2021 | Group D