A History of the Cork Business League in the Oscar Traynor Cup

The Cork Business League (CBL) makes a welcome return to the FAI Oscar Traynor Inter League Cup Competition after a fourteen year absence when it takes on their counterparts of the Munster Senior League in the opening fixture at Mayfield Park next Wednesday night, October 25th 2023 with a kick-off of 7.45pm, writes Finbarr Buckley.

The management team of Satellite Taxi’s James Corcoran and Martin Harvey Solicitors’ Ross O’Sullivan have been busy in recent weeks assessing the strengths of their squad and are confident of a winning start ahead of the second fixture, a home tie against the Waterford District League in November.

The national competition named after the former Minister for Defence and president of the FAI was first competed for by the CBL way back in 1966/67. The holders going into that season’s tournament, the Cork AUL, were defeated 4-2 at Turner’s Cross with the Fords’ duo of Barry Terry (2) and Joe Drennan among the goals along with Mick O’Mahony of Aer Lingus. Galway proved too strong in round two coming out on top 5-2 on the banks of the Corrib.

The following season a run to the semi-final was achieved following home wins over Tipperary (4-1) and Kilkenny also by a scoreline of 4-1 and an away victory over the Leinster Senior League (3-1). However, the Limerick District League ended the fairytale run to the last four following a 4-1 win.

Six years later the CBL’s representative eleven next took part with opening wins over Tipperary (1-0) and Wexford (1-0). Once again, a strong Galway spoilt the party by winning 2-1 despite the inspirational play of Aer Lingus’ captain Jerry Lane, Youghal Carpets’ goalkeeper Dave Barrett and Postal Workers’ defender John McGrath.

The Limerick District League triumphed 3-1 in 1977/78 before first round defeats in 1991/92 and 1993/94 to South Tipp, the Cork AUL in 1994/95 and Limerick in 1997/98. A rousing 5-1 win over the Munster Senior League in 1992/93 was the highlight of the League’s involvement in the nineties.

The League’s penultimate outing in the tournament before the long lay-off began with a goalless draw with the Kerry District League at Turner’s Cross on Friday, October 4th 2003. Current Marlboro Trust midfield supremo Tom Frawley lined out at number eleven on the night along with three of his then MCM’s team mates Mark Martin, Tommy Ode and Shane Donoghue. Two months later the Cork AUL came to the ‘Cross and despite Roche Stores’ striker Padraig O’Connell scoring, John Murphy’s AUL got on top in the second-half. The management team of MCM’s Ken O’Callaghan and Cork Airport’s Aidan Holland took their charges to Eamonn Deasy Pk. in Galway for the final match in March 2004 before going down seven-nil.

In 2009/10 the Limerick Desmond were beaten two-nil at Turner’s Cross, Eric Montgomery with both goals before the Clare District League brought down on the League’s involvement with a 2-1 win.

The current squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers : Eddie Scanlon (Doolan’s Cow), Sean Cunningham (Martin Harvey Solicitors).

Defenders : Chris O’Sullivan (Martin Harvey Solicitors), Michael Lennon (Satellite Taxis), Derek Morrissey (Andy Sull’s Hair), Rory Murphy (Jay Bazz Barbers), Walter Messina (UCC Utd.), Stephen McCarthy (Doolan’s Cow), Sean Blake (O’Brien Scaffolding), Caue Gonzaga (HELIO Inter Cork), Jason Meehan (Satellite Taxis)

Midfielders : Liam Horgan (Andy Sull’s Hair), Liam Cashman (Longboats), Eoin Hickey (Martin Harvey Solicitors), Gabriel Cerini (HELIO Inter Cork), Luke Magee (Martin Harvey Solicitors), Vitor Granja (HELIO Inter Cork), Matthias Rodriguez (HELIO Inter Cork), Sean Moynihan (Satellite Taxis), Mo El Shouky (UCC Utd.)

Forwards : James Cotter (Doolan’s Cow), Scott McCarthy (Andy Sull’s Hair), Alex Cummins (Satellite Taxis), Aaron Hennessy (Doolan’s Cow), Michael Coffey (Jay Bazz Barbers),