Postal Workers v Marlboro Trust, Saturday, March 13thย  2021, Marina Pk, kick-off 3pm

The fourth and final quarter-final of the Cork Business League Champions Super Cup brings together the most decorated team in the history of the league, Postal Workers and the third, behind CIE Athletic, in the trophy roll of honour, Marlboro Trust, in what promises to once again a fascinating encounter, writes Finbarr Buckley.

The teams first met in league competition at Killeady back on January 21st 2001 after Trust, then McSweeneyโ€™s Bacon, gained promotion behind Cork Plastics in 1999/2000. In the ten league meetings between the teams which followed, Postal enjoyed eight wins to Trust with the nil-nil draw at Pfizer Pk. on May 11th 2005, the only occasion when the teams failed to produce a goal. Incidentally, Postalโ€™s last trophy success came in the Premier Cup win over Marlboro on May 22nd, also at Pfizer Pk.ย  Goals from Dan Kenneally and a Wayne Murray header put the Workers two up by the 17th minute. Paul Madden set up Murray for a third on the stroke of half-time before Derek Noal pulled one back in the 54th minute. Further goals from Adrian Coleman and Mick Brosnan sealed the Workersโ€™ sixth Premier Cup triumph.

Marlboro boss Aidan Kelleher inspired his team to bounce back the following season and win the league and cup double for the first time. After Postalโ€™s departure at the end of 2005/06, Trust went on a marvellous run of success which culminated with four league championships, four Mooney Cup wins, two shield successes and three Premier Cup titles.

The famous playing surface of Marina Pk. is the perfect venue for the never say die attitude of Postal to go into combat with the midfield skills and lightening forward line of Marlboro Trust. The much-vaulted Workersโ€™ defence of keeper Tom Archer, full-backs Phil Clifford and John McGrath along with centre-backs Timmy Donovan, Tony Guest and Jerry Browne will be pushed to the pin of their collars to cope with players of the calibre of Eric Montgomery, Joe Monaghan and Pat McSweeney. The middle of the park is where the contest could be won or lost as the possible Postal trio of Andy Maher, Derry Hartnett and Pat Lester lock horns with David โ€˜Spookeyโ€™ McCarthy,ย  Jason Coughlan, Paul Draper and Shane Oโ€™Riordan.

The wily managers of Trustโ€™s Aidan Kelleher and Postalโ€™s Tony Daly would love no better a prospect than to win this one and get the chance to put Doolanโ€™s Cow away in the semi-final and meet the winners of Youghal Yarns and CIE Athletic in the final.

Postal Workers ย (Panel forย  CBL Champions Super Cup)

Goalkeeper(s): Tom Archer.

Defenders: Philip Clifford, John McGrath, Cormac Sheehan, Denis Oโ€™Leary, Jerry Browne, Tim Donovan, Tony Guest, John Brackett.

Midfielders: Derry Hartnett, Andy Maher, John Browne, Pat Lester (capt.).

Strikers: Pat Hurley, John Reid, Tom Barry, Nicky Byrnes, Ger Frahill.

Manager(s): Tony Daly and Harry Harte.

Marlboro Trust ย (Panel forย  CBL Champions Super Cup)

Goalkeeper(s): ย Padraig Morris.

Defenders: Andy Fitzpatrick, Stephen Moynihan, Nigel Thornhill, Brian Gilhooly, Mark Oโ€™Donnell (capt.), Dave Oโ€™Brien.

Midfielders: David “Spooky” McCarthy, Jason Coughlan, Shane Oโ€™Riordan, Gonzalo Santos, Paul Draper.

Strikers: Eric Montgomery, Joe Monaghan, Pat McSweeney, Jeff McCann, Derek Nolan.

Manager : Aidan Kelleher