CBL Champions Super Cup First Quarter-Final Match Preview: Doolans Cow v EMC

As announced recently, the CBL Super Champions Cup takes place online as a virtual tournament to fictitiously find out who were the best team of the 70-year history of the Cork Business League. For full details click here.

Doolan’s Cow v EMC: Saturday, February 20th 2021, Pfizer Park @ 3pm

In the recent open draw made to virtually determine who was the greatest club team in the 70-year history of the Cork Business League and be worthy of the ultimate accolade of Champions Super Cup winners, it was fitting that current Premier Division champions Doolan’s Cow should be first out of the hat to face one of the teams of the noughties EMC, writes Finbarr Buckley.

In what will surely be a tie of contrasting styles, the questions to be answered are whether Doolan’s’ potent strike force can unlock the watertight defence of EMC, a rearguard which was the cornerstone of their two title successes of 2008/09 and 2013/14. Doolan’s front five of Tony O’Reilly, James Cotter, Jamie Murphy, Aaron Hennessy and Liam Horgan will need to be at their best to break down the resistance posed by representative defenders’ Brian Darcy, former Cork Airport stalwart Michael Meighan along with the experienced Kieran Murphy and Michael Donegan. If the line is breached, there is then the formidable presence of a choice of outstanding goalkeepers in Ken O’Mahony who was the custodian in the first championship win and Ian Casey in the second.

The battle in the centre of the park will also be crucial to who obtains enough quality possession, as the formidable talents of Doolan’s captain Darren Geraghty, James O’Shea, Keith McCarthy and Sean O’Sullivan lock horns with EMC’s Tom Herdman, Martin Hayes, Eric O’Donovan and Kieran Hegarty.

EMC have plenty of talent to call on upfront with former Cork Airport talisman Stuart Howard a definite starter by virtue of his phenomenal scoring rate. In support, he has Peter O’Donovan, James Feehan, Michael Culhane, James Kelleher and Darragh Cerny. The teams have played each other in domestic competition before with honours even.

Rival managers Denis O’Sullivan and Wayne Kavanagh of Doolan’s and Paul Burdock will relish this contest who both squads at full strength. Whoever comes out on top is sure to have a big say in the destination of the Champions Super Cup!

Legendary international referee and a great friend of the league for many years, Derry Barrett is justifiably chosen to officiate the historic, accompanying assistants being,  1990 AIB Cup Final referee Kevin Coughlan and Bertie Stark, another official who always had a keen interest in the league since his first appointment back in 1995/96. Denis Donovan takes the 4th official berth in what promises to be a match to remember!

Doolan’s Cow (Panel for CBL Champions Super Cup):
Goalkeeper(s): James Murphy.
Defenders: Alan Monaher, Ian McCarthy, Brian Harris, Craig Keegan, Stephen McCarthy.
Midfielders: Darren Geraghty (capt.), Liam Horgan, James O’Shea, Aaron Hennessy, Keith McCarthy, Sean O’Sullivan.
Forwards: Tony O’Reilly, James Cotter, Jamie Murphy, Roy McCarthy, Bryan O’Leary, Ian O’Riordan.
Manager(s): Denis O’Sullivan, Wayne Kavanagh.

EMC (Panel for CBL Champions Super Cup):
Goalkeeper(s): Ken O’Mahony, Ian Casey.
Defenders: Brian Darcy, Michael Meighan, Kieran Murphy, Michael Donegan, Brian Buckley.
Midfielders: Tom Herdman, Martin Hayes, Kieran Hegarty, Eric O’Donovan (capt.)
Forwards(s): Stuart Howard, Peter O’Donovan, James Kelleher, Trevor O’Donovan, James Feehan, Michael Culhane, Darragh Cerny.
Manager: Paul Burdock.